Larry Nassar Survivors Take Home ESPY For Courage

The Arthur Ashe Courage Award

The Arthur Ashe Courage Award is given out to those who show "strength in the face of adversity, courage in the face of peril and the willingness to stand up for their beliefs no matter what the cost." Previous recipients have included Muhammad Ali, Nelson Mandela, Billie Jean King and Caitlyn Jenner.

At the ESPY Awards on Wednesday night, 141 women accepted the award on behalf of the hundreds of Larry Nassar abuse survivors.

The disgraced Olympic doctor is serving three concurrent prison sentences of 175 years for abusing over 260 athletes.

Olympic gymnast Aly Raisman delivered the acceptance speech with an inspirational message, saying, "To all the survivors out there, don't let anyone rewrite your story. Your truth does matter. You matter. And you are not alone."

Many women spoke out over the years, but were ignored.


Print this article Back to Top